What have we been up to lately?

Faculty & Student News


12.05.2018
MFA Faculty Gayle Brandeis' "Perspective: After My Dad Died, I Found His Double" appears in The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/2018/11/30/after-my-dad-died-i-found-his-double/?fbclid=IwAR09Uxnef97gX1yu4OhmNhSeBrF-hBP1yhtDzV-bdjqoV1qHJztOh-F3eAg&noredirect=on&utm_term=.977077ea6793

11.29.2018
MFA Poetry student Luke Johnson's "Messenger" is nominated by Tilde: A Literary Journal for the 44th Annual Pushcart Prize. https://www.thirtywestph.com/tildelit/  

11.27.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' "Soliloquy" appears in Superstition Review. https://superstitionreview.asu.edu/issue22/nonfiction/suzanneroberts

11.27.2018
MFA Poetry student Kathryn deLancellotti's "Not to the Father Will I Give Myself" is nominated by Cultural Weekly for the 44th Annual Pushcart Prize. http://www.softblow.org/kdlancellotti.html

11.15.2018
MFA Creative Nonfiction student Rebecca Evans' "Veiled" appears in Tiferet Journal. http://tiferetjournal.com/

11.10.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' "My Love Letter to a Thousand Oaks" appears in CNN.com. https://www-m.cnn.com/2018/11/09/opinions/thousand-oaks-shooting-hit-home-for-me-roberts/index.html?fbclid=IwAR1c_qNkDaM2Ej97eo0LbWvxknnAzZPClEyOrYXL6mRDNQnWoNtFoWBjm4g

11.05.2018
MFA Fiction student Michelle Olmsted's "One Day" appears in Helen Literary Magazine. https://www.helenlitmag.com/oneday.html

10.11.2018
MFA Faculty Rebecca Makkai's novel The Great Believers is short-listed for the National Book Award. https://www.nationalbook.org/books/the-great-believers/

10.11.2018
MFA Creative Nonfiction student Rebecca Evans' essay "Why I Write" appears in Fiction Southeast. https://fictionsoutheast.com/why-i-write-rebecca-evans/?fbclid=IwAR1xZnCj8te-USyD0a8JQTrX-ByHNmgiE7x6YEk7UVzlIQVD-PbLKMwhbwQ

10.10.2018
MFA Faculty Gayle Brandeis' found essay "A Portrait of My Mother Through Other Daughters' Portraits of Their Mothers" is published in Ghost Town. http://ghosttownlitmag.com/gaylebrandeis2?fbclid=IwAR0GhgCzUdTyyvPqhE2-YVzVm1mV9l6VhR3X8djB_VrMxajB0Pl7RslbEi0

10.06.2018
MFA Poetry Student Luke J. Johnson's poem, "Finch" is accepted by Narrative Magazine with a forthcoming publication in Fall 2018. https://www.narrativemagazine.com/

10.05.2018
MFA Creative Nonfiction student Rebecca Evans' short story, "Veiled" wins the 2018 Cunningham Short Story Award. http://willowdownbooks.com/

09.27.2018
MFA Faculty Laura Wetherington reviews Fady Joudah's Footnotes in the Order of Disappearance in the Kenyon Review. https://www.kenyonreview.org/reviews/footnotes-in-the-order-of-disappearance-by-fady-joudah-738439/  

09.21.2018
MFA Alumni Clare Frank reads at San Jose's Hammer Theatre for the Reed Launch Party. www.litart.org

09.20.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' lyrical essay, "Hawks and Other Flying Things" is published in The River Teeth Journal. http://www.riverteethjournal.com/blog/2018/05/02/river-teeth-journal-issue-192

08.15.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' travel essay, "Bargaining, or the Third Stage of Grief" is published in The Matador Review. http://www.matadorreview.com/

08.09.2018
MFA Suzanne Roberts' essays, "En Media's Res" and "What to Take, What to Leave Behind" are published in Tiferet Journal. http://tiferetjournal.com/

08.02.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' travel essay, "The Hotel Cadiz" is published in Creative Nonfiction. http://www.creativenonfiction.org/online-reading/hotel-cadiz

08.01.2018
MFA Faculty Rick Campbell's poetry collection, Gunshot, Peacock, Dog is published by Madville Press. https://madvillepublishing.com/gunshot-peacock-dog/

07.30.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' essay, "A Kiss for the Dying" is published in Norton's anthology, The Kiss:  Intimacies from Writers. http://books.wwnorton.com/books/The-Kiss/

07.28.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts is appointed to the El Dorado County Laureate for a two-year term. https://eldoradoartscouncil.org/poet-laureate-2018-2020/

07.27.2018
MFA Faculty Suzanne Roberts' travel essay, "Snowed In" is published in Wanderlust Journal. https://wanderlust-journal.com/2018/06/04/snowed-in-by-suzanne-roberts/

07.26.2018
MFA Creative Nonfiction Student Clare Frank is accepted into and received a scholarship for the Squaw Valley's Community of Writer's Workshop. https://communityofwriters.org/

07.26.2018
SNC MFA Director Brian Turner is interviewed by MFA Alum in Creative Nonfiction Optimism One. The interview features Brian Turner's new genre-crossing music and poetry for The Normal School. https://www.thenormalschool.com/blog/2018/6/12/word-music-a-discussion-with-brian-turner-and-benjamin-boone-by-optimism-one

07.24.2018
MFA Poetry Student Kathryn DeLancellotti's poems, "Farewell to Jezebel," "Not to the Father I Will Give Myself," and "These Walls" will be forthcoming in LA Cultural Weekly, winter 2018.
More News . . .
1 2 3 6
image