Removing License Provisions
Time and cost effective solutions to completing Nevada specific license requirements.
All courses meet NV DoE requirements. No prerequisites or program enrollment required.
These classes fill quickly!
Select the courses you want to take on the registration form to see all available dates.
Nevada Constitution, Nevada School Law and US Constitution
EDUC 502: Nevada School Law for Educators
Covers Nevada school governance, teacher rights, responsibilities and employment, educator liability, student rights and responsibilities, religious expression and curriculum issues, and special education.
HIST 405: Nevada Constitution and the Nevada Experience
A thorough examination of the historical, constitutional, and social dimensions of the Nevada Constitution and Nevada experience.
HIST 406: U.S. Constitution and Educational Policies
An overview of the U.S. Constitution, including its seven articles and all subsequent amendments.
Credits: each course is 1 Credit Pass/Fail; fulfills Nevada teaching licensure requirements; no tests required.
Cost: $175 per course; $50 non-refundable partial payment per course required to register; balance due before course start.
On Ground Courses
- Offered in Henderson (Las Vegas) and Reno.
- Courses are 5 hours in length, and held on selected weekends.
- Check registration form to see what dates are available.
- Complete online over 2 week period.
- Check registration form to see what dates are available.
Parental Involvement & Family Engagement
EDUC 520: Parent Involvement, Family Engagement and Classroom Practices
Explores the state and district requirements and expectations teachers have with respect to parent engagement, and working with parents and families to promote and strengthen communication and collaboration; to develop equal partnerships; and to empower parents and families to advocate for both their children’s learning and school decision making in school policies, practices and programs.
Credits: 3 Credits; fulfills Nevada teaching licensure requirements.
Cost: $500 per course; $50 non-refundable partial payment required to register; balance due before course start.
- Schedule: Wednesdays, 4pm – 9:50pm
- Dates: 3/22 – 5/14
Space is Limited!
Registration Deadline: 2 Weeks Before Course Begins
Frequently Asked Questions
Q – How do I know what provisions I have on my license?
A – You can see the provisions on your license by visiting nvteachersearch.doe.nv.gov/ Enter your first and last name into the search field, then select your name and license. Here you can view the provisions listed on your license.
Q – Can I just show up for the course and register and pay then?
A – No. If you have not registered, received a verification email of registration, and paid for the course before the course date, you cannot attend.
Q – Will I receive confirmation that I have been enrolled?
A – You will receive an automated email and payment receipt when you submit your registration and deposit. Because space is limited and these classes fill quickly, we cannot guarantee registration until we have verified availability. You will receive a second verification email, no later than one week prior to the class start date, when you have been successfully enrolled in the requested courses.
Q – I submitted my registration form, but have still not received a verification email of registration. What should I do?
A – If you have NOT received a confirmation email a week prior to the class start date, please email firstname.lastname@example.org. This may mean that the course enrollment was met, and you will need to register for a course later in the semester (if available) or the following semester.
Q – How do I drop a course, or change to a different session?
A – Email email@example.com for assistance. Make sure you include the specific class(es) you have registered for and both daytime and nighttime phone numbers. The request to drop or change must be received before the first day of the course to avoid payment.
Q – How do I add another course?
A – Submit a new registration form for the new course(s).
Q – I am having problems registering. What should I do?
A – Please email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance. Describe the issue in as much detail as possible and include both daytime and nighttime telephone numbers.
Q – How do I pay and when is payment due?
A – A non-refundable partial payment of $50 per course is required to register for these courses. Full payment is required before the first day of your courses. Your confirmation email will include directions to pay your balance on the online Payment Portal. You will need the SNC Student ID number included in your verification email.
Any balance that is not paid prior to the beginning of the course is subject to interest charges, and transcripts will not be released until your account is paid in full.
Q – Are there any discounts available?
A – No. These courses are offered at an already discounted rate to help teachers complete their requirements quickly, without the application and other fees associated with full programs.
Onground Course Questions
Q – I will be taking all three courses – is there a lunch break?
A – It is recommended that you bring your lunch. There is a working lunch session during the course sequence.
Q – Do I need a laptop?
A – Yes, you must bring a laptop to the course.
Q – Are there any books to buy?
A – No, you will be using internet resources (remember to bring a laptop!)
Q – Are there any assignments or tests I will need to complete?
A – There are no tests to complete for these courses. You will have a written assignment due 1-2 weeks after the class end date. You will receive a Pass or Fail grade.
Q – Where are the courses taught?
A – Henderson Courses: 4300 East Sunset Road, Suite E-1, Henderson, NV 89014.
Reno Courses: 9480 Gateway Drive, Suite 150, Reno, NV 89521
Online (Moodle) courses can be accessed anywhere you have an internet connection!
Online Course Questions
Q – How do I access my online course(s)?
A – Shortly before the class starts, you will receive an email from the SNC IT department with your online (Moodle) username and password. On the first day of the online course:
- Go to http://sncmoodle.sierranevada.edu/
- Click the small “Login” link above the moodle icon at the bottom of the page.
- Enter your assigned username and password. Click “Login”.
- You must “Enroll” in each course you are taking to get access to the course material:
- Choose “SNC Teacher Education Courses”
- Choose your course. Check the dates to make sure you choose the correct session.
- Click “Enroll Me”
- Once you have enrolled online in your course(s), you will see links to all your courses under “My Courses” whenever you log in to Moodle. Click the links to access the course material.
Q – Once I have received a grade, how do I order my transcripts? How long will they take to arrive? What is the cost?
A – You may order your transcripts online at http://www.sierranevada.edu/community/alumni/transcript-request/. Transcripts may take 7-10 business days to arrive. A fee of $10 per transcript must accompany each request. Rush orders will be accepted with the payment of an additional $25 per delivery address.