Writers in the Woods brings exciting authors from across the country to campus for intimate readings and workshops.

Writers in the Woods Literary Speaker Series

SNC Tahoe’s Writers in the Woods brings well-known poets and writers from all over the country to the campus for intimate readings and workshops, where audience members can meet and exchange ideas with the guest writers.

We have hosted writers such as Nick Flynn, Tim O’Brien, Patricia Smith, Denise Duhamel, Suzanne Roberts, Gary Short, Lola Haskins, Brenda Hillman, Bob Hass, and many others. We also sponsor an annual Tahoe Poetry Slam competition every April, with the winner claiming the title of Tahoe Slam Champion of the year, as well as cash awards for first, second and third place finishes.

Readings are held Friday evenings from 7 – 9pm. They are free and open to the public.

Workshops are held Saturday mornings from 9am – noon. They can be taken for credit and are free to students, $50  for community members — click here to register.

Location of all events is the Tahoe Center for Environmental Studies (TCES) Room 139 – 142

For more information

June Sylvester Saraceno
English Program Chair
775-831-1314 x7514

Benjamin Percy

Sept 11 – 12

Common Read author of the graphic novel Refresh, Refresh

Benjamin Percy’s most recent novel is The Dead Lands, a post apocalyptic reimagining of the Lewis and Clark saga. He is also the author of the novels Red Moon and The Wilding, as well as two books of short stories, Refresh, Refresh and The Language of Elk. He has also written for the DC comics series Batman.

author website: http://benjaminpercy.com/

Roxane Gay

October 16 – 17

Roxane Gay is the author of the books Ayiti, An Untamed State, an Oprah’s Book Club selection; Bad Feminist, a New York Times bestseller; and Hunger, forthcoming from Harper in 2016. She is the co-editor of PANK and essays editor for The Rumpus.

author website: http://www.roxanegay.com/

Chris Millis

November 6 – 7

Chris Millis is the Sierra Nevada College Visiting Writer and Distinguished Professor for 2015-2016. He is a prize-winning novelist, screenwriter, producer, and cartoonist. His first novel, Small Apartments, won the 23rd Annual International 3-Day Novel Contest, and became a feature film starring Matt Lucas, Billy Crystal, Johnny Knoxville, James Caan, and others. His most recent novel is God and California.

author website: http://www.chrismillis.com/

February & March


Lindsay Wilson

April 8-9
Lindsay Wilson is the TMCC co-editor of The Meadow. His poetry collection No Elegies won the Quercus Review Press Book Award in 2014. He was a finalist for the Philip Levine Prize in 2007.

Annual Tahoe Slam Competition

April 29